Distinguished Citizen Award Dinner


Apr 24, 2019 6:00 pm to 8:00 pm



See details below
See details below
See details below, NC 00000


Benton Convention Center, Winston-Salem, NC 27101


Dr. Gary M. Green, recently retired President of Forsyth Technical Community College, named 2019 Distinguished Citizen

On April 24, Old Hickory Council will hold its annual Distinguished Citizen Award Dinner. Community leaders, family, and friends will gather to honor Dr. Gary M. Green, recently retired President of Forsyth Technical Community College. Dr. Green has had a significant influence through a lifetime of service and leadership to his community. His passion and leadership are best described by the Boy Scout slogan, "Do A Good Turn Daily".

For 29 years, the Old Hickory Council, headquartered in Winston-Salem, has sought to recognize one individual in the community who is a role model by his or her personal accomplishments and is also an example of what Scouting holds most important. leadership and service to others. From the very first honoree in 1990, John Medlin Chairman of Wachovia Bank to the 2017 honoree, John Buress III, this important community event has raised over $3 million for Scouting in Northwest North Carolina Green Picture important community event has raised over $3 million for Scouting in Winston-Salem and Northwest North Carolina. 

Please help us honor our 2019 award recipient, Dr. Gary M. Green, by purchasing tickets to the award dinner or through a monetary gift to Old Hickory Council, BSA.

Past Honorees

  • 2018 Dr. Nathan Hatch
  • 2017 John Burress III 
  • 2016 Kelly S. King 
  • 2015 Susan Cameron 
  • 2014 Stan Kelly 
  • 2013 John Whitaker 
  • 2012 Don Flow 
  • 2011 Betty Quick 
  • 2010 Edwin Welch Jr. 
  • 2009 L. Glenn Orr Jr. 
  • 2008 Mayor Allen Joines 
  • 2007 Walter McDowell 
  • 2006 Richard Vaughn 
  • 2005 Richard H Dean, MD 
  • 2004 Murray C. Greason 
  • 2003 Clarence “Bighouse” Gaines
  • 2002 John A. Allison
  • 2001 Len B. Preslar, Jr.
  • 2000 Tab Williams
  • 1999 Senator Richard Burr
  • 1998 Paul Wiles
  • 1997 L.M. “Bud” Baker
  • 1996 Dr. Thomas Hearn
  • 1995 Victor Flow
  • 1994 Richard Janeway, MD
  • 1993 Jesse Helms
  • 1992 James W. Johnson
  • 1991 Paul Fulton
  • 1990 John G. Medlin